The 12 cranial nerves.

1. Olfactory nerve = Sense of smell.

11. Optic nerve = vision.

111. Oculomotor nerve= Eyeball and eyelid movements.

V1 . Trochlear. = Eye movement.

V. Trigeminal = This is the largest cranial nerves and it is divided into three branches, which consist of the ophthalmic, maxillary and mandibular nerves.

The functions are to control facial sensations and chewing.

V1. Abducens nerve is also for eye movement.

V11 .Facial nerve is for facial expression and sense of taste.

V111 .Vestibulocochlear nerve is for Equilibrium and hearing.

1X .Glossopharyngeal nerve. Swallowing, sense of taste and saliva secretion.

X . Vagus nerve = Smooth muscle sensory and motor control in the throat, lung, heart and the digestive system.

X1 .Accessory nerve = Movements of the neck and shoulder.

X11. Hypoglossal nerve: This is the movement of tongue, swallowing and speech.

The cranial nerves consist of 12 nerves that arise from the brainstem.

The olfactory and optic nerve arise from the anterior portion of the brain called cerebrum.

The Glossopharyngeal, Vagus and hypoglossal nerves are attached to the medulla oblongata.

The Oculomotor, and trochlear cranial nerves stem from the midbrain.

Trigeminal,Abducens and Facial nerves arise in pons.

Vestibulocochlear nerve arise from the inner ear and travels to the pons. .

Published by edochie99

A Registered Nurse with over twenty years of hospital experience, an author with Masters Degree in Nursing,also Bachelor Degree in Nursing,graduated in 1996 from USC,University of Southern California.MSN in 2009 University of Phoenix.

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: